FOG: Footsteps of Ghosts
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Martial Arts

4 posters

Go down

Martial Arts Empty Martial Arts

Post by Claymore Mon Feb 22, 2010 3:02 pm

We all write about fighting. Our characters brawl, shoot and duel, but how many of you actually practice Martial Arts themselves? Which Martial Arts do you practice, why do you practice it and, since we are after all on a roleplay forum, how does it influence your writing?

I started practicing Martial Arts when I was thirteen, though the desire to do so was sparked much earlier when I saw a karate black belt perform a kata when I was eight. I had been dancing for already four years then and the control, beauty and power of the kata, so similar to a dance, entranced me immediately. As said earlier I only got the chance to actually practice karate five years later however. For a while I was contend with that and I continued dancing until I entirely forsook dancing and also started practicing Modern Wushu at the age of seventeen. From then it from bad to worse and I started practicing Taido a year later, last fall I started Judo and after my karate-sensei stopped teaching I also started jiu-jutsu. In total I practice about six to seven hours a week. Oh yeah call me crazy Laughing

I guess the reason why all my characters are fighters is also partly due to the fact I'm a Martial Artist myself and it has helped me greatly in describing their fighting styles; do they fight as a karateka or like a taidoka or do they in fact favor one of the many Wushu styles instead? Describing actual fighting moves remains difficult despite a better knowledge of them and so far the only time I actually describedone it was a simple knife-disarm.
Claymore
Claymore
Mist
Mist

Female

http://rufious.deviantart.com

Back to top Go down

Martial Arts Empty Re: Martial Arts

Post by Gadreille Tue Feb 23, 2010 4:28 pm